Hello - New to Hub and first time self builder using a kit

Hello!!!  My name is Colette and I am a complete novice re self new builds. We have a plot in St Cyrus, Aberdeenshire and now have full planning permission, architect plans, building warrent etc. We have selected to use an adapted kit build and make it disabled friendly.  It’s been an uphill struggle to get this far and we are now putting the job out to tender.   My question here, of which I’m sure there will be more, is… we’ve had a quote of £2500 per m2, and on questioning the price, the contractor admitted he hadn’t taken into account the full list of kit contents….. such as all windows, doors, flooring, roofing, insulation etc etc etc.   So, assuming he reverts back with £xxxm2. My question is, what is a reasonable/average price £xx m2 for a contractor to quote when all component of the build, are provided to  make it wind and water tight???

Many thanks …. And if anyone knows of any disabled new build grants or benefits, please let me know. 

thanks!!

Congratulations and welcome. 

It'll be good to get some insight on building a useable house for disabled people. 

Pics and plans always appreciated for us nosey types. Please  blank your name and address from any uploads. 

What does the kit include? An itemised list would give people a good idea of what costs are reasonable 

• Like 1

Welcome to THE forum for people like us!

£2.5K per m2 seems not an unreasonable figure for a mid range finish in your part of the world, so it should only go up a lot if you are going for a high end finish or you have some difficult features. Its a kit after all. How have you structured the contract - do they purchase the kit or do you do that direct and they set it up? 

1 hour ago, Bonner said:

Just to clarify in case there are different interpretations here, £2.5k/m2 is reasonable for a finished house, for a weather tight shell it is a bit steep.