ASHP - using a low loss header and modulation instead of a buffer

gravelld

I think I've found an ASHP installer I'm happy with, but one aspect of his design rests a little uneasy on me.

Generally we have gone for slightly oversizing the heat pump and having a lower flow temperature to maximise the COP. The pump is a Midea 16kW. The house is a retrofit where we are swapping out an oil boiler. No UFH, all radiators. The heat loss and modelling has shown only one radiator needs to be enlarged.

The bit that feels uneasy is that his design doesn't include a buffer tank for the space heating. Having been reading a lot of BuildHub in the past few years, it seems to me that default advice is to have a buffer tank to reduce compressor restarts (improving the life of the pump) and reduce short cycling.

Instead of a buffer tank, the installer recommends "low loss headers or plate heat exchangers, both of which act as hydraulic separation".

I am not a heating engineer, so I don't really understand the significance of LLHs totally. Reading around, it appears to be a way of allowing two circuits to run at different speeds.

I am told Midea heat pumps can operate a second pump, and this is where the LLH comes in. Combined with modulation down to 15%, they think that a buffer tank is not required.

Can anyone help me understand this better, or maybe give some ideas to probe a little more with further questions of the installer?

For me, this is a little confusing. 

Low loss headers will, as I understand it, allow circulation of the water even when the radiators have turned themselves off (assuming thermostatic radiator valves are used) however, modulation as I understand it, is the turning on and off of the heating (in this case) to meet demand. It is known that an air to water ASHP should run for at least 10 minutes before stopping to achieve the best COP result.