Buzzing LED dimmable bulbs

Edward

Forgive me but I am a complete layman when it comes to electricity. We have in our kitchen a pendant with 8 bulbs installed, specifically these in various shapes.

https://www.thelightbulb.co.uk/4watt-pear-led-es-e27-screw-cap-very-warm-white-gold-finish-equivalent-to-30watt-dimmable/

The wiring, switch, the circuit into the distribution box including the box itself is all new.

We replaced the current bulbs because they buzz, however these bulbs are worse. What’s the solution? Is it likely to be a new switch? Are the bulbs not suitable? 

id be grateful for some insight and some product recommendations to help stop the buzz!

At the risk of not being any use whatsoever it's usually down to the bulbs, the dimmer, or both... ?

Joking aside (although that wasn't actually a joke!) if you like the bulbs then I'd look more into what dimmer you've got. Varilight V-Pro are often recommended as being compatible with a wide variety of bulbs, have a couple of different operating modes and are easy to get hold of. (Make sure you get a V-Pro - they have other, sometimes cheaper, models that aren't necessarily as good)

Edited by MJNewton

• 1 year later...

That kind of 'fliament' LED bulb is often a bit crude in terms of the driver electronics inside the screw cap (note there's not much room down there). Despite being claimed to be dimmable I wouldn't put it on a dimmer. If it isn't on a dimmer then it's even cruder than the usual Chinesium offering.

• Like 1

I tried numerous LEDs over the years. Had great success with cheap non-dimmable bulbs but getting anything dimmable to work has been a struggle. I tried several makes of filament type bulbs on a variety of dimmers and always had horrible flickering.  This was only/most apparent when several bulbs were used in one room/fitting. 

Then last year I tried some Osram candle style dimmable bulbs and they are working well on a Varilight dimmer.