Spray foam insulation

Russell griffiths

Can anybody spread some light on the different types of spray foam insulation 

for instance with some of the closed cell types would you still need a vapour control layer on the warm side of the insulation? Or does this completely seal everything thing up

do you still need a breathable membrane on top of your rafters under your counter battens or is there now no moisture that needs to escape 

trying to work out the associated costs that go with various different insulation types

its ok thinking one thing is a good price but then add in £1000 worth of vapour control layer and it all adds up. 

Cheers

confused as Normal. 

Hi Russell, I have no technical knowledge on this but we are using closed cell spray foam as our topmost insulation layer in a ventilated build up under a metal (Tata) roof.  One of the reasons we decided to use foam is to assist in getting an airtight seal around the roof plate as we will have an MVHR system.  Airtightness seems to be one of the main reasons closed cell spray foam is so popular in new builds. 

We did use a breather membrane above the rafters (under the battens) partly because you need something to spray against from underneath and OSB is not acceptable from a condensation calcs perspective.  BASF can provide some evidence by way of test results that the heat from the spray foam will not damage the breather membrane (I think the test results are for open cell foam but they say the heat impact is equivalent).  I wanted to spray against PIR fixed above the rafters (not foil backed) but, illogically to my mind, this threw out the conensation calcs.