How much flexibility do conditions allow?

yessir

Hi everyone, 

The good news is, we've had planning granted! 🍾

There are a number of conditions that my architect has informed me are all 'pretty standard'. There are just a few things I'm not clear on given this is my first project.

A number of the conditions start with a variation of the following: "No development shall take place (including demolition, ground works, vegetation clearance) until...". And then go on to request specific documents such as a Construction Ecological Management Plan (CEcMP). 

The plot is rather overgrown, and with spring on the way, I'd like to get in there and start removing shrubs, cutting grass, trimming trees, removing brambles etc etc. My concern is that this would most likely fall under vegetation clearance right? If so, It's a bit bizarre considering I would have done all of this before planning was approved. 

Any ideas?

You don't need planning permission to tidy your garden, tidying your land is no different. I had all my soak aways done etc before planning came through.  As long as you do6start or be seen to start the house foundations all good.

But get any ecology stuff done now, before breading season starts, otherwise you may forced into a 6 month waiting period. Do not hang about.

• Like 1

I had 16 conditions to be discharged. I was a little daunted by this but when i spoke to planning recently they explained that only the ones that contain the line ' written permission from planning'  needed to be satisfied before works could start.

I too have some that relate to planting, Bats, Newts, Unicorns but none of these stop me from starting work. They just have to be done before anyone moves in.

Hope this helps.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, yessir said:

Hi everyone, 

The good news is, we've had planning granted! 🍾