Hopefully just finished our UFH design. This is for a non certificated passive house. The house is a timber frame with passive slab using AFT .The house is on a North/South axis with South being at the right hand side of the drawing. I am hoping people could cast their eyes over this pipe layout. At the moment it has come out needing a 12 port manifold and the spacing is 200mm. 

My query is whether I have over done the amount of pipework and if this could be reduced. With the one room upstairs (not on the drawing but positioned directly above the Northern end of the house) I have not bothered with UFH but not sure whether to get a bigger manifold which starts to get expensive, just to put electric ufh to go with the bathroom and all of which may never be used if the house is as warm as we hope. All bathrooms will be electric UFH and any spacing you see, as in the long corridor, will be evenly spaced on the day of laying the pipes.

TIA 

LoopCAD JPEG.JPG

I'm not an expert on UFH but my one observation was:

Are the bedroom wardrobes fixed? If not is there not a risk that the layout might get reversed at some point which would cause a large cold spot? Or changed for a single bed? (These things might not happen in your ownership) My my understanding is only fixed furniture is piped around. 

Edited by Barney12

There look far too many loops there ...

You've got at best 160sqm of floor which at 200mm spacing would be 800m of pipework. If I take out all your fixed bits then it's 120sqm, worst case then is 600m of pipe so you have an average of 50m of pipe per loop. 

Each bedroom can be a single loop - no issue there. Two loops to cover the big area on the left, one to cover ancillary areas should be 600m of pipe and the 6 port manifold. 

I'd take out all the beds/wardrobes etc as @Barney12 said and redo it. Rules are that it shouldn't go under kitchen cabinets, showers, baths or WCs. Anything else is fine. 

• Like 1