Air Source Cylinder to power both hot water and underfloor?

cee

Hello, this is my first post here so please be kind!

I have just bought a house that requires full renovation. One of the topics I've been passionate about since I was a kid is green energy, and I am really excited to see the new technologies emerging like ground source and air source as well as more established technologies improving such as insulation and solar panels.

I am considering switching my hot water to an air source cylinder and installing underfloor heating powered by the same cylinder. I estimate I need about 200l hot water a day for showers etc and about 60l of water to power about 100sqm of underfloor heating. I am really new to this so I have a couple of questions I hope you lovely people can answer.

1. is 60l about right for 100sqm of underfloor?

2. can I run both my washing water and my underfloor water off the same cylinder and not get ill from the water going around the system a bit?

3. Is this a good idea overall since it seems scarily cheap compared to other options (eg ground source pumps).

4. Is the bathroom a good place to put the cylinder, my theory being that the bathroom will get hot during showers and baths and the cylinder can pick back up that heat more efficiently than in a cold room?

Thanks in advance!!!

Hi there

A couple of things, your stored water temp will be around 47 degs, so 200l capacity will need to be looked at bearing that in mind.

Your cylinder does not power the UFH, your heat pump does, it basically supplies two temperatures via a diverter valve either to UFH or cylinder.

To get CoP (lowest running costs) from the heat pump it needs to be run at as lower temperature possible. Hense running two temperatures.

You possibly need to do quite a bit of reading in the heat pump sections on here and UFH so you do that correctly also.