Window fitting checklist

Gill

We've just had the fitters in putting in our new windows.  They were happy to have me contact them if I see any issues but as a novice, I'm not really sure what I should be checking for.

While they were fitting I spotted a couple of the gaskets were short and those have been refitted.  Spotted a few more today in the cold light of day so those will be getting sorted.

The other area I was checking was the foaming.  This has been done in some windows from inside and out and in others just from oustide.   There's a couple where the foam hasn't made it into the gap properly in windows that have only been done from one side so those are added to the fix list.   I'd prefer if they'd foam both inside and out where accessible so will ask if that's possible.  

The last issue I've spotted is that some window frames have small caps over small holes in the frames (at least one is cracked as in the picture).  Others do not.  I'm not sure exactly what these caps are for - we specific no trickle vents but these don't look like trickle vents to me.  Any ideas?  I'm thinking that they should all be capped.

If anyone has a "window checklist" or any other suggestions of areas to inspect it would be appreciated.

Thanks

.PXL_20230210_144540937.thumb.jpg.28ccf3c5a3c88b72c5d32a1a389c0bd2.jpgPXL_20230210_141217472.thumb.jpg.564f03463db429166e2ab1ed8bec1bd4.jpg

We had to have a couple of the glazing units replaced as we could see marks between the panes of the triple glazing. One of them was 3m high. Apparently there are rules about the size and how easy it is the see the marks from a certain distance. Can't remember the rules exactly.

35 minutes ago, Gone West said:

We had to have a couple of the glazing units replaced as we could see marks between the panes of the triple glazing. One of them was 3m high. Apparently there are rules about the size and how easy it is the see the marks from a certain distance. Can't remember the rules exactly.