Advice required

Russ P

Hi all complete newbie so advice needed. Bought a late 1800's cottage and want to underfloor heat the kitchen!

its currently a soil sub structure so the current plan was dig it out and do a new floor build up as follows 

50mm liquid screed or 10mm gravel concrete 

100mm celotex with ufh clipped 150mm spacing

100mm concrete base slab

does that look about right? Also is it ok to use 10mm gravel concrete? My thinking on that is I work for a concrete company so can get it slightly cheaper. Unfortunately we don't do screed ?

Dig a bit deeper and put 150mm of insulation in. 100mm is just scraping past current regs, and current regs are shite on a good day ;)

I put 200mm down under the last job ( summer room / conservatory ) and the customers were chuffed. The difference between the floor in the new space vs the concrete 60's slab in the bungalow was huge, and that was with the Ufh OFF. If you can go to 200mm insulation then that would be much better, and then you can go 100mm eps and 100mm PIR ( kingspan / celotex / similar ) as you'll want something tidy to push the Ufh pipe clips into. 

The best job of all would be do away with the sub slab, and go...

Sand blinding.

25mm eps, to protect the DPM. 

DPM. 

150mm PIR insulation. 

100mm concrete slab with reinforcing mesh, Ufh pipes zip tied to the mesh. 

Remeber that liquid screed is a real pita to get anything ( like tiles ) to stick to. I'd go for concrete or screed if tiling. ?

14 minutes ago, Nickfromwales said:

Dig a bit deeper and put 150mm of insulation in. 100mm is just scraping past current regs, and current regs are shite on a good day ;)