Underfloor heating and radiators mix

Zentachi

Hi everyone! Nice to meet you.

Just bought my first property, a 1930 semi detached two storey house.

I am planning to retrofit wundatherm underfloor heating on the ground floor and leave radiators on the upper floor.

The house has a combi boiler. I want two zones so the radiators will work independently of the UFH.

What is the best way to connect them? Is just a zone valve before the manifold enough? 

Most probably I will get the Honeywell evohome or the tado V3 smart thermostat. Anyone had the above setup and use any of these smart systems?

Many thanks,
Zen

28 minutes ago, Zentachi said:

Most probably I will get the Honeywell evohome

I have found these to be rather complicated and somewhat unreliable tbh. I won't be using that system ever again ( and I've been installing central heating for nearly 30 years now ).

Have a good read of the existing content here first, as this has been discussed quite comprehensively. You will definitely need to introduce a buffer tank to this setup to allow the UFH to run independently and reliably without short-cycling the boiler.

Do you know if there is any insulation in the existing floors / walls? What is in the attic?

16 hours ago, Nickfromwales said:

I have found these to be rather complicated and somewhat unreliable tbh. I won't be using that system ever again ( and I've been installing central heating for nearly 30 years now ).

Have a good read of the existing content here first, as this has been discussed quite comprehensively. You will definitely need to introduce a buffer tank to this setup to allow the UFH to run independently and reliably without short-cycling the boiler.

Do you know if there is any insulation in the existing floors / walls? What is in the attic?

Thanks Nick for your advice.

I don't think I will be able to use a buffer tank, but I will have another look and try to include it.