13m rule?!

Just after a bit of advice around building to the side of our house on top of the existing garage to add a fourth bedroom..it’s a detached house but towards the side there’s a couple of bungalows. I’ve been advised that I wouldn’t get planning because It needs to be 13m away from the bungalow. 
there’s several properties near by that have done something similar and seems less than 13m. I’ve put in a pre planning app to see, but just not sure if I’m going to get the nod?! 

I’m an architect and I feel like I need to have a badge that says *citation needed* too.

If you look on your local planning website, look for the SPD (supplementary planning documents) or something that has a design guidance document in there. That’s the best bet. I’ve seen a few numbers about facing window to window and overlooking but I’ve never heard of 13 seems a bit random. Or just ask them how they got to that. When you say ‘an architect’ do you mean just some random one, or is it one your using?

I think this will be the minimum distance between facing windows of habitable rooms in different dwellings they are concerned about.

Normally it is more like 21m or 22m required, eg between houses so the back gardens would need to be 11m long each. One solution could be preventing a view between ground floor windows, so having say a 2m separating fence with permanant retention of that fence being enforced by a planning condition. 

Ways around it in your situation could be obscured (eg frosted or stained glass) windows, windows above viewing height such as a clerestory, non-habitable rooms (eg bathroom, hallway, storeroom), or the windows being at an angle rather than straight on to each other.

Here is one example of the rule for East Staffordshire:

https://www.eaststaffsbc.gov.uk/sites/default/files/docs/planning/planningpolicy/spd/Separation Distances and Amenity SPD_Final_Jun19.pdf