MIgration Of Plasticizers From PVC Cables

Onoff

A wordy thread title there! :)

There's been some discussion on another thread reference the possible detrimental effects of "cables" being in direct contact with:

- Solid insulation products namely EPS. PU and PIR

- Expanding foams (assuming PU)

- Silicones / mastics

I'm really no expert on the science of this but have personally seen T&E (twin and earth) "sunk" into EPS walls and similarly into loose fill and solid EPS between joists. It was pointed out to me as a then mate in a "trickle down / hand me down knowledge" sort of way. My understanding is that the plasticizers used in the cable to give flexibility leech(ed) out over time. This is certainly the case when you see old T&E where the surface is cracked and crazed. It would do that on its own even if clipped direct. Some T&E, years on you can strip by hand! Other factors come into this such as the heating/cooling the cable is subject to under load and thus repeat low level expansion/contraction. Add in exposure to UV from sunlight and there's a few factors to consider.

I attempted then to find some scientific basis for all this. There's loads of forums with peoples personal opinions. There's anecdotes on the lines of "I sandwiched a bit of T&E between two shhets of polystyrene for 10 years and it was fine!". We all have stories but I wanted some "facts". I've tried to keep to official sources. I've even avoided the IET as there's so many opinions on ther. There is then this PDF from East Sussex Fire worth it for the pictures alone:

http://www.esfrs.org/black-museum/all-the-black-museum-cases/pvc-cable-insulation-and-polystyrene-insulation/