Finding underground gas pipe on own land

Happy Valley

Apologies if this has been asked before - newbie here.

We are demolishing an annex which has the gas meter and supply on it's outside wall. 

I am applying to Cadent Gas to move the meter but am having my own contractor to do the trench. 

The query: Is there a relatively easy way of finding out the run location of the gas pipe under the garden? 

Edit: we are not having gas at the new house.

Edited by Happy Valley

4 hours ago, Happy Valley said:

The query: Is there a relatively easy way of finding out the run location of the gas pipe under the garden? 

I have actually had good results with dowsing rods (e.g. bent bike spokes / metal coat hanger), fook knows how it works, but in my experience i seem to be able to find pipes with them.

Edited by Moonshine

42 minutes ago, Happy Valley said:

We need the connection for the existing house which has GCH. 

If you're not having gas at the new build, where (& why) are you moving the meter to?

From my experience, when you are demolishing you need to get National Grid to decommission your meter and have your billing company collect it to close the account.

You are not allowed to mess with their supply to your meter, even if its on your land.

Ok, I didn't see your answer above.

If your supply pipes is metal then a CAT detector may find it. If it's plastic (mine was) the only way to find it with a Cat detector is to insert a sonde in the pipe which the detector picks up. But obviously this means removing the meter and putting the probe in their pipe which is a no-no, but is how national grid determined where to dig up the road at mine. Mains gas is actually relatively low pressure so they put a blob of black gunk at the meter end of the supply pipe until they located it in the street and properly capped it off there.