Domestic installers and EICs

Hi everyone, newbie here! We're just at the stage with our new build where we are putting up internal walls and plasterboard but it will soon be time for first fix electrics. 

My understanding is that a 'domestic installer' (ie, someone who has C&G 2392-10 and C&G 2382-18 and is a competent installer) can issue an EIC for a new build.

Is this correct?

We are in Scotland so I know that Part P doesn't apply up here.

Any advice gratefully received!

Yes in Scotland, there is no need for anyone to be a member of a "competent persons" scheme, there is nothing like Part P in England (though it will happen here soon I think)

All that building control want is a valid EIC.

10 minutes ago, ProDave said:

Yes in Scotland, there is no need for anyone to be a member of a "competent persons" scheme, there is nothing like Part P in England (though it will happen here soon I think)

All that building control want is a valid EIC.

Cheers Dave, that's really useful. We're in the Highlands and my other half, who is an experienced installer, is about to become a Domestic Installer by gaining the C&G quals I mentioned, so we assumed that he would be able to issue the EIC. Just out of interest - there is the option to tag on Part P training, do you think it is worthwhile doing it?

1 minute ago, ProDave said:

Part P is only of relevance to a Scottish electrician close to the border doing some work in England

No doubt when Scotland does introduce something similar it will also be different.

Hahaha, that's exactly what he said!

I assume that the building inspector, at sign off, will ask for the EIC and may ask for evidence of qualifications? (especially as the homeowner would be signing the EIC!)

Mt findings is each Council must keep a list of electricians they have check.  I never get asked now for any proof, but the first time I issued one in InvernessShire They phoned me to quiz me.  So if you are new to them you might get asked.