Velux Integra or Velux Solar?

CH1

With the solar roof lights being only a little more than the electric Integra roof lights does anyone have any advice on:

1. which is more expensive to install (cost of builder fitting solar versus cost of electrician wiring the electric ones)

2. any problems long term with the solar ones if anyone has experienced issues with battery life

or any other experience/advice which might sway my decision making.  

We'll have a mix of manual (for those easy to reach), solar (one large rooflight that doesn't come in electric so we have to go solar) and possibly the others integra.

3 of the roof lights will have the black solar reduction ornings fitted for hot summer days.

Thank you

I have no experience of the solar ones but the wiring for Integra is simply a 3 pin plug at one end and smaller pre-wired plug the window end, with very long cable inbetween. So no need for an electrician, just routing the wire under the plasterboard. 

IIRC if you want electric blinds on the solar ones then you end up with 2 remote controls. With Integra it's all on 1 remote. 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, CH1 said:

With the solar roof lights being only a little more than the electric Integra roof lights does anyone have any advice on:

1. which is more expensive to install (cost of builder fitting solar versus cost of electrician wiring the electric ones)

It looks like it takes about a minute to install the solar module, according to this Velux video so not a lot of extra effort for the builder

We went electric (not solar) Integra - was zero additional effort for the roofer as he just dropped the power cable into the house, it's fitted to the room side of the window. It was quite long and had a plug top so was easy to test before access got tricky.

We also have motorised blinds on top of a few units, these run off a 12v plug into the main window unit (I did this bit myself once roofers installed it and poked the blinds cable through.