Self Builder converting a single storey steel framed barn to a dwelling in North Wiltshire

I am a Self Builder converting a single storey steel framed barn to a dwelling in North Wiltshire. 

I have Class Q planning permission but am awaiting approval on a full application that will make the house much better looking than the current approval.

I am trying to get everything set up so we can start asap after the revised permission is approved.

My architect wants another £6k to do advise on building design, do detailed building drawings and to submit them for building regs. He states the cost will be saved through more accurate quotes from the builders saving me money.

2 builders I consulted say don't waste 6 k on building regs drawings  just pay the council and they will tell you what is needed.

I am concerned that both have vested interests the architect to get additional work and the builder as they can give an uplifted quote without detailed drawings to tie them down.

We don't have money to waste and we do like to challenge the normal ways of doing things to save both time and money.

Any advice and guidance will be greatly appreciated .

BC do not, will not and should not be giving such advice. They are inspectors, not designers or specifiers. This is even more so since a change to the regulations in October 2023.

Without detailed/BR drawings, how do you know what builders are quoting or including for? If however you’re not going out for quotes and one builder who you like, know and will be appointed then providing they’re competent, you don’t “need” fully drawn and detailed information.

Can only agree with @DevilDamo

If you can't do the drawings yourself, get them professionally completed.

Actually take a moment to think about what you want and need. You can only do it correctly once. With a decent set of drawings that you get quotes against, you know what you should be getting from the builder. If they don't deliver you can make out things right.