Closing the Cavity - Fixing Large Aluminium Sliding Doors

Lift span

Hello!

I'm looking at two options for closing the vertical (jamb) and overhead cavity in the extension design below: Timber or Compacfoam 200.

Has anyone any experience of doing either? 

The triple track sliding door frame is over 180mm wide and needs fixing all round so a standard cavity closer won't work.

The timber is cheap and easy and I was thinking of wrapping it in DPC to avoid rot from condensation in the cavity. 

Compacfoam is expensive and I have no experience of using it.

Timber Vertical:

image.thumb.jpeg.e75473c14253556646283405f2979472.jpeg

Overhead: (Angle Lintel is a separate galvanised section):

image.thumb.jpeg.cb331c603b9637bf513a70e50b79565d.jpeg

Compacfoam 200:

image.jpeg.c480cae50abfdbab17aeee8bc3f01498.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.40b36cde13063905092feaa77dd0e42a.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.aeacd20f56902e3e950716291b915e08.jpeg

I'd not thought of fixing clips!  Maybe that is an option. The window supplier is saying they need fixings straight through the frame though. 

54 minutes ago, MikeGrahamT21 said:

Are you not able to use fixing clips off of the frame for top and sides to the inner leaf? They should just be to stop movement, and not actually load bearing, all of the load should be on the bottom.

http://aluminiumwindows.co.uk/blog/strap-fix-fit-bifold-doors/

1 hour ago, MikeGrahamT21 said:

Are you not able to use fixing clips off of the frame for top and sides to the inner leaf? They should just be to stop movement, and not actually load bearing, all of the load should be on the bottom.

http://aluminiumwindows.co.uk/blog/strap-fix-fit-bifold-doors/

This is how I fixed my big sliding door too. But the manufacturers may take a different view which might affect the warranty so worth checking. 

3 minutes ago, Miek said:

This is how I fixed my big sliding door too. But the manufacturers may take a different view which might affect the warranty so worth checking.