Fitting a stone resin shower tray on plywood

George 3G

Hi all,

I'm in the middle of a bathroom renovation and I'm crossing off the last few jobs before the tiler comes. The biggest job left to do is to fit the 1700mm x 760mm Merlyn stone resin shower tray. I've removed the old chipboard floor, added extra noggins to the floor joists for additional strength and laid a new 18mm plywood floor. The bathroom is only 1700mm x 2000mm and there is a steel under the doorway so the floor is pretty rigid but there is a 10mm or so drop across the bathroom floor (over the length of the shower tray). I wanted to make sure my plan for fitting the tray is correct, I've done some searches on here and found some very helpful advice, especially from @Nickfromwales but I just wanted to make sure I hadn't missed any steps in the process. I'm a complete novice and haven't done anything like this before!

So as it stands, my plan is:

1. Clean back of shower tray to remove any trace of mould release agent
  2. Prime underside of tray with Ultra Tile Fix Primer
  3. Prime Plywood with Ultra Tile Fix Primer
  4. Lay either Jackoboard or Hardie Backer Board with tile adhesive and screws to tray area of floor in a step form to "bulk out" thick areas of tile adhesive to avoid any adhesive sinkage.
  5. Back butter shower tray with 10mm trowel
  6. Lay tile adhesive over Jackoboard / Hardie Backer Board with 10mm trowel
  7. Fit Tray
  8. Lay Hardie Backer Board to remainder of floor which will have a self leveling screed laid over it by the tiler to level.

I also want to add some CT1 to the three sides of the tray that contact the Wedi board wall, what is the easiest method of doing this on a tray that is in contact with the wall on three sides?