Permitted development on houses built after 2018

Lewis88

I’m quite new to this and have currently been advised to withdraw and amend my planning application. The reason for this is the eave height and general size of the build. I am planning on changing my roof from gable ends to a hipped design in order to get planning granted quickly. I was hoping to change this back either through a minor material amendment or through permitted development after the house is complete. I have since found that permitted development has changed but I cannot see any legislation (for permitted development) that refers to new builds after 2018. Have they been completely withdrawn for houses built after 2018? Or do my search skills need improving?

10 minutes ago, ProDave said:

What makes you think building a hipped roof onto a house with gable ends (and likely the houses around you have gable ends as well) is going to find favour with the planners?

Ive already submitted a plan which had gable ends and the planning officer has stated that she is of the opinion that a gable end roof would be too imposing to the neighbouring property which is approximately 10m away. The neighbouring property in question had no issues with the original plan. There is a on hipped roof in the street  however that property is approximately 20m away. I’m of the opinion that changing the plan to hipped would ease any concerns of this without imposing height restrictions on the eave height. 

Thank you very much for doing some of your own research before posting on BH. Just in case you haven't managed to read it, here is the latest updated guidance

This page is the one to which the Planner may well been have referring in her advice to you ; its the bit about

...building operations which do not materially affect the external appearance of a building. The term ‘materially affect’ has no statutory definition, but is linked to the significance of the change which is made to a building’s external appearance.