Trimless Plaster in Downlights/Spot Lights Spacing & Quality

revelation

I am looking to install trimless plaster in downlights into our kitchen which is around 8m x 6m.  I have never used any before, normally it has been standard after plaster downlights.

How many downlights would you recommend for that space, considering that they are recessed into the fitting would more than normal be required? 

To be on the same side more would be better than less...?

These are the ones I am looking at installing

https://www.saxbylighting.com/products/product-detail/81572-ravel-trimless-fr-downlight-50w

Has anyone had any experience of using them, is the quality massively different to those which are twice the price?

Any do's and don't to consider with these kinds of lights?

Interesting. These are new to me. Very tidy.

I am guessing that the bulb is in line with the finished ceiling. If set back there will be some shadow.

You need to draw this up showing light radiating down at whatever angle the bulbs say is their spread, to ensure even coverage. That would be at just above worktop.

They must be over work surfaces not heads, or there will be shadows. Does that work if there are cupboards?

You will have  a lot of them. 1m centres? so 35 of them!

I've used similar units from Colingwood. Although integrated LEDs, rather than GU10's

The ones I've used have a 38° beam angle and are 5.5W. I have 8 (two rows of 4) over a dining area that is approx 6m x 5m and they light the area well, even though it's part of an open plan living area so no wall on two sides to reflect the light back in to the "room".

I am wishing I'd gone for GU10's rather than integrated LEDs for these. Even though Collingwood give a 7 year warranty, if they fail in 10 years they'll be a pain to replace.

Edited by IanR

I’ve plastered to these a few times

If there the same The bulb fitting is magnetic We put a timber pattress behind each fitting as staples wouldn’t hold