When should FENSA certificate be issued?

Brix

Hello.

My ex is looking to sell her flat. She had Crittal windows replaced with a modern metal alternative - quite pricey stuff. The install was practically complete in March last year - almost a year ago. She raised some fitting issues with it but the installer insisted that it was properly fitted and has turned up with various bits of equipment to demonstrate that there is no draft and sound reduction works. I have some experience with sound and noted that he was testing incorrectly (e.g. only measuring the background noise level with the windows closed, rather than the differential between the levels with windows open and closed). Some seals visibly do not meet - he said that they don't need to because there is more than one seal. In some places if you close the windows on a sheet of paper it holds it tight as you would expect - in others the paper just slides out. Nevertheless he insists it is all as it should be.

We have been in direct contact with the system designer and they are clear that there is either a manufacturing issue or an install issue. The installer has been promising to meet with the designers on site but the meeting has not materialised.

Anyway - she is now selling the flat and needs the FENSA certificate. The installer - who has repeatedly denied that there is any issue - says he cannot issue the warranty or the FENSA certificates because she has raised issues. But he still does not accept there is anything wrong with them and is not taking any action to put things right.

Surely there is nothing to prevent him issuing the FENSA certificate and warranty docs?

(I'm starting to wonder whether the product is a fake?)

Edited by Brix

21 hours ago, Brix said:

Hello.