New Member- SIP build near Oban

mattp22

7 hours ago, the_r_sole said:

Nice one, where is the plot (my neck of the woods!) 

How far down the line are you? have you had the delights of argyll and bute planning yet?!

Hi, I'm in Bonawe- loch side plot. Plot came with PP but I want to alter design- Planners have been receptive so far. Where are you based and what are you building? I hope to start spring 2021.

4 hours ago, mattp22 said:

Hi, I'm in Bonawe- loch side plot. Plot came with PP but I want to alter design- Planners have been receptive so far. Where are you based and what are you building? I hope to start spring 2021.

Lovely spot there! Is it Lesley the planning officer in that area still?
I'm based down the road but I'm an architect who works a lot in Argyll and Bute

Yes great spot.

Every council is a bit different, you may get the odd delay, frustrated now and again, but you'll get past that, it will be worth it.

Have you considered "stick building" it? Here you get a good competant local joiner to cut the timbers and make the frame on site and this opens up opportunities to use local trades persons, get to know people and make new friends. You may also like the savings you might make.

There is no barrier to having a passive slab, much of passive slab design is borrowed and adapted from industial building design. The difference is that you would use a ~ 150mm thick stud for the walls and pack that with a high quality insulation. If you need more then you can pack out the wall studs. On top of that you line the lot with an insulated plasterboard to prevent / mitigate cold bridging and what we call ghosting.

You can create a gap between the insulated plasterboard and the insulation in the studs and this make an ideal service void. If you cut into a sips you can loose some of the structural integrity. So perhaps not so easy to change / alter things later on.