VAT on heating installations

I have just had my vat refund so will now have to pay vat on my next heating installation but am a bit confused by the rate that will be charged. 

When I was a self builder I could ask for all supply and fit work to be zero rated. If I bought the goods I would pay the vat and reclaim it. That’s simple and straightforward. 

As I have recently moved from self builder to ‘home owner’ I now have to pay vat on my next installation but I am confused by the rates. I understand that some energy saving materials are charged at the reduced rate of 5% if the equipment is installed. But if I buy the equipment supply only it is standard rate? 

So using this example as I am considering installing an ASHP. If I buy the ASHP and DIY the installation I will be charged 20%. If I have it installed as supply and fit ASHP installations are rated at 5%, and if that was all that needed to be done it would be charged at 5%. I assume any ancillary bits and bobs (connectors or whatever) would also be at 5%? 

If however I wanted it to be connected to a thermal store for example would that count as ‘installation of energy-saving materials with other goods and services’ with the whole thing rated @ 20%? If so presumably I could ask for the ASHP to be installed as a separate job from the cylinder and receive 2 invoices accordingly? 

And what about heat batteries eg Sunamp? If I buy one and install it myself it’s 20% but if I get an installer to do it it’s 5%? I couldn’t see whether heat batteries were included in the vat notice at all in truth. 

It was far easier when I was a self builder! 

Guest Alphonsox
39 minutes ago, newhome said:

I have just had my vat refund so will now have to pay vat on my next heating installation but am a bit confused by the rate that will be charged. 

When I was a self builder I could ask for all supply and fit work to be zero rated. If I bought the goods I would pay the vat and reclaim it. That’s simple and straightforward.