SOLIS INVERTER, OFF PEAK CHARGING.

Chrisofle

Hi,

Newbie here, hoping for some help and advice.

I am looking at having a new PV and battery system to our home.

The system I have been offered is a 4.9kw system consisting of the following:

11nr 450 watt Znshinesolar panels

Solis 5G RHI Hybrid Inverter- RHI-5K-48ES-5G

3.3kwh Growatt Battery ML33RTA.

Could anyone confirm if the Solis Inverter can be set up to charge the batteries using off peak rates?

I was thinking this may be an option in the winter months when the PV is not performing as well.

My current usage is: 

DAY

NIGHT

COMBINED

Month

USAGE

USAGE

USAGE

MAR/APRIL

FEB/MAR

JAN/FEB

DEC/JAN

NOV/DEC

OCT/NOV

SEPT/OCT

AUG/SEPT

JULY/AUG

JUNE/JULY

MAY/JUNE

APRIL/MAY

ANNUAL

Even though I do have electrical back ground I’m finding this a bit of a mind field.

Many thanks in advance any advice.

Your combined usage figures are the total of day and night, but what periods do those relate to? Assuming those figures are average power in Watts for 15h/day time 9h/night time then in Jan/Feb you consume 9kWh in the day and 3kWh during the night. I don't know where in the world you are but in the Northern Hemisphere a 4.9kW system might deliver 5 or 6kWh on a good day. A 3.3kWh battery might have to be charged exclusively on off-peak and you would have to self consume all 6kWh while the Sun was shining - and you're still coming up short. Off peak you can cover your night time baseload as well as charging but the tricky time will be evening when all 3.3kWh might go in a couple of hours or less. I think you need at least 10kWh battery.

• Like 1

10 hours ago, Chrisofle said:

Could anyone confirm if the Solis Inverter can be set up to charge the batteries using off peak rates?

Does this question mean can the inverter divert power to the battery during the day IF the battery is ORIGINALLY set up to take night-time electricity ?

• Like 1

Many Thanks for the replies.