Underfloor heating when the manifold is far away from the boiler

DynamicC

Hi all,

I am planning on doing a wet DIY underfloor heating install downstairs of my property.

I have zero experience with the plumbing and electrics side of the install, I plan to get a pro in to hook everything up but want to ask a question to make sure I have not missed anything prior to their visit.

I have attached a diagram of what I think in my head is correct, but open to suggestions here. ( complete novice )

I have radiators upstairs for now and plan to do an underfloor system when I renovate the upstairs of the property.

I plan to have 2 nest thermostats, one upstairs and one down stairs ( its a small open plan property )

The upstairs makes sense to me, the Nest Link will tell the 2 way valve to open which will also tell the boiler to switch on.

However the down stairs is confusing me, the Nest will tell the 2 way valve to turn on, which will tell the boiler to turn on but what tells the underfloor pump to switch on.
Ideally I am trying to avoid running a cable to the boiler as the boiler is in the loft space and will be a royal pain.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Many thanks

image.thumb.png.f9c32363e9ffb7243e5c58ca4b055f70.png

2 minutes ago, Dave Jones said:

dont bother with multiple stats upstairs.

one underfloor loop (no room stats).

How much insulation you putting under the floor screed ?

I was only planing on using one stat upstairs and one down stairs, would this be adequate?

I am planing on using a "dry" install system, something like Omnie LowBoard unless someone else has better suggestions in the UK. 

You can get a wireless relay, but you’d need one that sends an on then am off signal ( flip flop ).

Check with the various big names to see what they offer. Oh, and avoid Honeywell EvoHome like the plague. Unreliable bag of 💩.

Order of events;

Room stat sends call for heat signal to manifold wiring centre.