Spraying onto fresh plaster

James94

Hi,

Just purchased a Wagner control pro 250m, got a large 4 bed to paint. I’ve never used an airless sprayer before so I will be starting off in areas that will be hidden by floor to ceiling kitchen units etc.

I’ve read a few of the older posts, just wondering if anyone has any advice on which paint to use? I’ve read some paints don’t need watering down for mist coats which I thought all fresh plaster should receive.

should any filling and sanding take place once the first/ mist coat has been sprayed of before hand?

James

Can anyone offer any advice for a newbie spraying a house? also best way to achieve straight lines around reveals as I don’t think what I’ve been left with will look very good after spraying. As you can see on photo, would you take plaster back a little and caulk for straight lines.ED1C0CAF-31EA-45C1-A105-EA450D85EE94.thumb.jpeg.d727423875a0c8abd6a4caad8903c8a1.jpeg

James

Hi James,

First I'm a DIYer not a professional so it was just my experience and probably didn't do it all as it should be done.

I used the same sprayer and was impressed with the finish, key thing don't apply too much paint, keep moving the gun and try to keep the same distance from the wall.

I practised on walls that were going to be hidden and I did get a few runs initially but as I said don't apply too much paint, more light coats are better than trying to get it on in one coat.

I decided to use Matt on the ceiling and all walls to get the mist coat on. I then put the final coats on the ceiling as matt and have decided to apply silk coats on the wall by roller.

The finish is so smooth that any touching up later with a roller or brush will show and walls are likely to need touching up, I also didn't fancy trying to mask the ceiling to spray the walls.