Fit stepped flashing before all slates are fitted?

I think I have two options:

A - Slate the whole roof then rake out the mortar and fit the lead stepped flashing at the abutment using some foam or PIR sheet as a platform to avoid point loads on the newly laid slate.

B - Fit a strip slates up the abutment 2 slates wide and then fit the stepped flashing while I can still support my weight on the roof battens.

What would a roofing pro do?

I am 6ft tall with a BMI around 25 or 26 = not fat.

1 minute ago, joe90 said:

I am not a roofing pro but have done this more than a few times!!. Option b would be my choice.

Swmbo will not like that answer, she is expecting to see at least 50 slates fitted by end of day.

It is a small roof just 2m from fascia to ridge so it should be possible to fit the stepped flashing on one side by standing on the staging and then reaching from the ridge kneeling on the untiled side. Think I might push ahead and get one pitch slated and then switch to your suggestion before fully slating the other half of the roof.

1 hour ago, epsilonGreedy said:

A - Slate the whole roof then rake out the mortar and fit the lead stepped flashing at the abutment using some foam or PIR sheet as a platform to avoid point loads on the newly laid slate.

B - Fit a strip slates up the abutment 2 slates wide and then fit the stepped flashing while I can still support my weight on the roof battens.

Don't forget the soakers..

21 hours ago, joe90 said:

I am not a roofing pro but have done this more than a few times!!. Option b would be my choice.

After studying some more videos on how to fit a step flashing I now think it would be best to route out the mortar for the step flashing before fitting any slates because otherwise the soaker upstands will interfere run of the 4" grinder. Was that your experience?

• Like 1

20 hours ago, Temp said:

Don't forget the soakers..

I started making soakers yesterday and have watched that video many times.