Two storey side and rear extension with thermal upgrades

Hi everyone

New to the forum, and wanted to chat about some questions we have on our extension. We are getting different opinions from different professionals and it's quite confusing.

The background is, we have bought a 3-bedroom detached house on a lovely street in Nottingham. Its circa 1930's with 9inch brick solid wall constructon. Many of the houses on the street have been substantially extended, but ours is yet to have any work done. 

My partner's Dad is planning to do a lot of the work as he is a carpenter by trade and has spent his life building timber frame buildings and renovating houses. We have planning permission, and we were planning to start this month, but discussions around the internal layout and its affect structurally have caused concerns to be raised by the architect. 

The existing plans are below. followed by the proposed plans. The initial proposed plan shows the new kitchen on the left as you look at the house and was the architects suggested layout. However we were'nt happy with the relationship to the living space, and the size of the kitchen considering the extension, we asked to explore removing one of the external stores and moving the utility to allow space for a bigger L shaped kitchen that has some separation from the living space. Obviously this is more complex structurally as long goal-post steel has to go in to support the entire back span of the existing house, wheras previosuly the the utility room wall was load bearing. 

The architect has also raised concerns about using timber frame as the foundations for the new extension would be bigger, and another goalpost required over the rear bifold/sliding doors. Whereas with loadbearing masonry apparently a steel goalpost would not be required and the foundations smaller.