Outdoor Oak Frame Seating Area

AdamW85

Hi, I hope this is in the right forum location.  Not strictly house construction, but is timber! 

Looking to build an outdoor seating area, with a oak frame construction and flat roof.  Being an engineer, i'm have a high (an sometimes annoying) attention to detail.  I have worked with wood quite a bit, but never anything of this scale, or in oak.

I would like to keep it traditional looking, with knee braces and ideally pegs to hold the structure together.  

Attached is a plan view of the area.  Made a little more complicated by the shape, but not too bad.  I am thinking 4 main posts (ideally 8" square - shown red).  Timber attached to the wall (orange), a main lateral beam (green) with rafters coming out to meet the posts/main lateral beam (blue).  Spacing of beams is not accurate, just to show principle.

A couple of key points I am unsure of:

• The timber size to use for the wall beam, rafters and main lateral (assuming 8" square posts)
  • The best joint design to use at the point the upright posts will meet the main lateral beam and the rafters from the wall
  • Is it better to use wooden pegs to hold the structure together, or counterbored bolts with a peg purely for aesthetics

Can anyone direct me to some literature regarding these points, and also any general construction best practice would also be useful.

I'm confident in my ability to physically manufacture the parts, but its the detail design that I am unsure of!

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Decking Plan Area.JPG

Re beam size - theoretically depends on roof loading of course (if there is a roof). In actual fact, you’ll find it is all so oversized that you can use whatever works aesthetically / economically / practically given the joints you want to use.