Timber frame cavity wall

Grsz

Hi!

I’m learning architectural terms/methods because it interests me a lot. Sorry if some questions are stupid, I’m a newbie in this.

There seem to be many different types of foundations, slab layers, insulation, and wall types.

The most common I’m reading about is cavity wall where there insulating material is sandwiched between two shells of walls. I’ve been reading around and where things get very blurry is block, and timber frame.

Some places mention internal shell being timber frame, outer brick work, where some places mention bricks only as cladding, not bearing load.

Some mention different cladding can be used for a timber frame, where the insulation material is between the posts, but based on my limited understanding, it’s not a cavity wall anymore?

And the third case where the inner skin is block, the outer being brick, and timber in the gap, filled with insulating material (which is the most confusing).

Some also mention the gap filled, some unfilled.

I read detail drawings, forums, asked chatgpt, the more I read, the more confused I get.

Can someone shed some light to clarify the above?

I think you are into a case "ask 100 engineers and you get 100 right answers".

What you need to do, initially, is break it down into important parts i.e. structural forces, thermal properties, looks, easy of construction, price etc.

Then analysis each part and how they go together.

Some construction methods have developed over millennia and it is only in the last 250 years that post rationalisation has happened.  An example of this is one of my favourite discussions about lime versus Portland Cements.  They are both interesting and do their jobs well, but many think that the traditional lime mixes are better 'because the Romans used them' (even though the Egyptians beat them to it by a 1000 years at least).