Insulated raft when piling is required

MoDo

Was nearing a decision on timber frame supplier and drawn to MBC's package of founds and frame. However soil survey shows we needs piles and MBC have sent a general sketch of how they might implement piles with their insulated raft. I'm no engineer but to me it seems criminal to bridge the EPS with the piles as the drawing seems to illustrate. I'm told the area is small and thus the cold bridging isn't significant enough to negate the overall benefit of the insulated raft. Apparently they have done a few like this - is there anyone here with their foundation and piles? I recall @TerryE calculated the impact from rebar to the external masonry footing was significant but I guess that involved significantly more metal than the limited number of piles typically needed for a raft.

Pile section.jpg

Would also be grateful for any opinions as to the significance of the piles affecting the thermal performance of the slab - is it a reason to avoid this foundation type entirely or is the impact minor and nothing to be concerned about?

Thanks looks like a creative solution. So the piles don't tie in directly with the concrete - just support it from below? 

Did you use a local contractor for the job? Or was it an MBC job? (Sorry haven't had a chance to dig through your blog etc yet). 

• Like 1

Our design was provided by Tanners (Eire) . One sentence in an email from him about the foundation design saved his fee many times over. The design 'type' is called an Insulated Raft. - One of the consequences is - for example - that we have had no heating at all in the house so far this year - and the ground  floor is tiled throughout. 

We used ground improvement columns - not piles - because they cost about one third (£6,500 ) that other piling contractors were threatening to charge  (10m by 10m house, 64 'piles' )

Heres the build-up from piles upward 

layout.thumb.jpg.67e8d96048aaafa3e097c620f7a0e9d1.jpg