ASHP

nod

Something I’ve little knowledge of 

Though I’ve a friend who runs a plumbing and heating company 

About 50 employees He admits that he has little knowledge of them but added that will all have to change very soon 

question sizing 

Brand and cost of the actual pump

Any with a long guarantee

Looking online Prices seem to vary wildly  

If he is a reasonable sized concern, and 50 employees says he is, then he will be doing a deal with the main importers and not fiddling about with local agents.

He really needs to do his own research regarding the 'best' units as it is a combination of performance, reliability, easy of installation, commissioning, repairs.

As a general rule, Japanese manufacturers are pretty good, but they do all work the same.

Getting 50 plumbers to learn that it does now work or operate like a gas combi is going to be a struggle, he is probably best setting up his own training course.  Has to be better than practicing on customers systems.

No the info is for our next build 

I was quite taken back that my heating engineer friend has little or no knowledge 

But as he said none of of our sites have them 

But that’s going to change 

I would imagine a handful will go on courses Then bring the others upto speed While there current crop of a dozen apprentices will be learning this at college 

We did a site locally in 2008 which I now realize had a heat pump on all 128 homes The builder used there usual plumbing company 

Learning on the job 

I’m guessing that most companies would sell you the most expensive model 

Like buying.a car 

It would have been nice to hear some first hand experience Over spec under spec 

Price etc 

On 28/03/2021 at 20:42, nod said:

I was quite taken back that my heating engineer friend has little or no knowledge

A friend of mine has a heating business and heat pumps aren't on his radar. He's just too busy as it is so has no incentive right now.