Is there anything wrong with our MVHR plan?

We have an MVHR plan originally from our M and E guys which I think is OK, like this:

image.thumb.png.4dab68113b3727b8229c9f7391cbd315.png

The unit is in the loft under a warm roof, in the centre-ish of the house.  The external vents are through a North facing gable end wall.

The first floor heat exchanger will probably be replaced with a bit of UFH upstairs, but apart from that, is there anything fundamentally wrong with the layout and ducting plan?

The third diagrm shows more extract than supply vents.  Is that an issue for balancing?

I ask because a leading MVHR supplier refuses to engage with us and give us a quote until after we pay them a fee to (ostensibly) rewrite the ducting plan. 

Edited by Mr Blobby

• 4 weeks later...

Hey John, 

I am by no means an expert in this field, I did the design and installation in current house and planning the same for the next one. Couple of small points maybe worth considering;

• Loft location is convenient in one way, but is also a torture in another. You need to access the machine to change filters (twice a year for us), and when my machine played up a few months back, it was less than fun getting it down the attic stairs to have a full inspection. If possible, I would look into placing the unit in a closet or wardrobe on the first floor. 
  • I wouldn't be greatly concerned with the balancing between floors since the overall balance is correct, but, I would also possibly have a look at having two machines, one upstairs, one downstairs. As you can opt for smaller units, the price may be very similar, but gives you more overhead if you want to run higher rates than those listed without much stress on the units.
  • Thanks 1

• 2 weeks later...
On 11/07/2023 at 11:51, JohnMo said:

The flow rates look massive, these should/need to be trimmed back.

Holy crap, our flow rates are more than double part F recommendation.