Pete7

Buying building plots with planning permission??

Hi, I'm very new to this and looking for some advice. My partner and I, have decided we want to build our own home and we are currently trying to find a plot with planning permission.

My question is, how much does one have to stick to the approved plans after purchase? How easy is it to make amendments? I imagine a plot with outline PP would give more flexibility?

Most plots I see for sale only have OPP (there are plenty of plots available up here)

If you find one with full PP and want to change it, you would have to submit a new planning application.

We bought ours with a full PP attached for a traditional Edwardian style cottage.  We had no intention of building this, or anything like it, from the outset, so had a pre-application planning advice meeting with the local planning officer to see how receptive he was to what we wanted to build.  Even though he is responsible for a lot of the conservation work in the area, he had no issue with our having a contemporary 2 storey building to replace the existing pre-fab bungalow that was on site.

Once we finally got to the planning permission stage, it went through with no objections and minimal planning conditions.