Focal correction for mid distance work onsite.

Has anyone resorted to getting fitted with glasses with a focal distance set for arms-reach jobs around site?

I ask because over the past two days I have started lying some training courses of bricks on the concrete slab of the garage at home. My regular general purpose glasses prevent me from focusing clearly on the quality of close up mortar joints and my computer glasses, which are set for 20 inches beyond my nose, leave most 3 to 6 feet objects slightly fuzzy.

I've been wearing glasses for reading for ~ 4 years now - also need them for diy.  Right pain  - they are on / off all the time.  drive me potty.  Cringe at the thought of laser surgery but its getting easier to accept.  Interesting to see what others do...

I have this dilemma.

When I last visited the optician, they gave me a lovely set of distance glasses, that not only correct the focus, but I have a bit of astigmatism.  They also gave me a set of reading glasses.

When I collected them and tried them, the distance glasses were fine, I now wear them when driving etc.  But the reading glasses were hopeless. Perfect for reading a book but such a very limited range of distance over which they focus, i.e the PC screen when sat at a desk is much too far away for them to focus.

So I went back to the optician to "complain"  They gave me a card with small text and asked me to read it, which I could. They declared the reading glasses were "working"

I explained the problem, and they said I needed work glasses, but there is no nhs subsidy for those and prices would start at £150.  I declined on principle.

So I just use a pair of weak self select reading glasses. They don't correct the astigmatism but that is not bad, and they work over a surprisingly large distance range.  My prescription reading glasses only come out of their case once in a blue moon for something really challenging.