Hi!

Dreadnaught

Hi, Tom here. New to the site. I am a passive-house enthusiast, already planning designs for a new build but I have not even found a plot yet, so I am probably letting my enthusiasm get ahead of me. I aim to build a small home in the South East of England, probably around Hertfordshire or Buckinghamshire. 

I have no experience in building but have been reading intensively for a few months now and have learnt a lot from this site and many other blogs, including Jeremy Harris' and podcasts, including Ben Adam Smith's House Planning Help podcasts and by visiting houses on the Passive House open days.

I am fully convinced that Passive House is the best way. And have been persuaded that SIPs above a floating concrete slab might be a good construction approach. For DHW and heating, my latest best guess for internal services is an ASHP,  UFH, SunAmp with E7 and PV.

Best regards,
Tom

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi and welcome

The only thing I would caution against is designing the house before you have a plot.  You need to know the size and shape, orientation, views, restrictions, not overlooking neighbours etc before you can design what will work for that site.

But of course fill a scrap book with ideas while looking.

• 4 weeks later...

Modifying what I said in my first post, I have just read a host of @TerryE's splendid posts about his own build and I am now persuaded by the merits of a Willis Heater heating the slab and the ingenious use of the slab as a heat store.

Thus my my latest best guess for internal services or my build is to drop the ASHP and  add a Willis heater and stick with UFH, E7, SunAmp (especially the new model with two temperatures, one of which is suited to UFH) with E7 and PV.