How far can you get in an hour

SteamyTea

There is an electrian on another forum who was complaining it regularly takes him an hour to do 10 miles from one side of Birmingham to the other.

We once (never again) set off from Oxford to the Highlands on the August bank holiday Friday after work.  We gave up and went to bed (in the caravan we were towing) at Shap.  I calculated we had averaged 30mph from Oxford to Shap.

Yes there are always exceptions.  But the thing is, it really is not as bad as people make out.

I regularly used to travel the motorway network when I worked for Welcome Break.

I only once had a terrible journey (stationary for a total of 7 hours).

Some of my work colleagues used to not leave the office until about 8:30 in the morning and then just sat on the M1 going nowhere.

I used to leave earlier and never had a problem.

Well I have been belting up and down the M5 for the last two years and mostly the 130 mile trip took two and a half hours but this was because I timed it right, late at night or very early. I have only been caught out a couple of times, the worst was 6 hours ( two lorries crashed and the motorway was shut) it took me 3hours just to get out of Bristol that day. 

Down here in Devon,  if they have to queue for 15 minutes it’s a big holdup ?

Edited by joe90

I'm not sure if it's just me getting older and entering the realm of "grumpy old gits", but there does seem to be a heck of a lot more traffic jams around now than there used to be.  I can well remember the infamous Okehampton Bypass many years ago, that used to grind to a halt with summer traffic, but it seems that traffic levels everywhere have increased massively over the past ten years.  Salisbury has always been congested, as it doesn't have any effective bypass, but with all the new peripheral housing developments it's now got far, far worse.