Help me identify this, please

Hoostun, we have a prablerm.

I'll save you the sob story.I need to know what this stuff is.

Our local BMW are experts at making me feel like an idiot when I go in and ask for stuff I've never used before.

So could you please tell me what this stuff is, please.....

plumbing.thumb.jpg.e95edfba5b3e00377d1d6bdb14e6d8f4.jpg

It's  a loop containing 3 radiators in  our central heating system

And I think this valve is leaking... What do you think?

valve.thumb.jpg.d1a8e52ed371f1bd1b546d2aee99c0f1.jpg

Any guidance would be most welcome.

Ian

Which “stuff” do you want identifying ..?? The grey fittings look like PlumbSure or similar - usually from the likes of B&Q. 

That rad valve looks to have a weep from the spindle but nothing serious unless there is a pool of water I can’t see..?

Whatever it is it can connect to or be replaced by any of the standard push fittings HEP20 or John Guest for instance. You just need the diameter of the pipe to get the right bits. Looks like the grey stuff and the copper is 22mm while the white stuff (looks remarkably like John Guest pipe) is 15mm and the ends of the white pipe go into reducers which provide 22mm male to 15mm female connections.

What do I want to know?

The trade names of the plastic piping: both the  white stuff and grey stuff.

If you look at the top right of the top right photo, the plastic stuff re-connects to copper piping - but if you look at the radiator that that loop serves, the piping is plastic where it goes into the valve.

So  for one or two of our radiators on the feed side, the water travels through copper, then plastic, then copper then plastic piping . On the way back it's just plastic. I think our system must have been built by a cobbler, not a plumber.

3 minutes ago, MikeSharp01 said: